Masochist (a poem by me)

originally posted on my personal blog wildcharismaandwanderlust.wordpress.com

Love is desktop wallpaper

Masochist

I stumbled when I saw you the first time

You could say I fell for you

It was a combination of relentless summer heat

And the quiver in my throat

When I saw those raw blue knuckles

You looked up at me and smiled

With a veneer of the benign

But I saw those jagged teeth

And the corners of your mouth

That didn’t quite reach your eyes

It was a dance with death

My rosy cheeks set against your pallid jawline

That was so sharp it almost sliced my fingers

My nimble hands contrasted with your brass palms

A cacophonous orchestra

I was rum and you were vodka

Both intoxicating, but together, poison

One too sugary sweet and the other dry and wintery

You felt sour and tangy on my tongue

And left a bitter-sweet aftertaste

Maybe I’m masochistic

Because even though you tore me open

And ripped my lungs into threads

I loved breathing through a sea of blood

It was the only time I felt something

2 thoughts on “Masochist (a poem by me)

Leave a Reply

