Politesse (a poem by me)

originally posted on my second, personal blog: wildcharismaandwanderlust.wordpress.com

polite society

Politesse

They were the type that

Knew what fork was for dessert

And held their manicured nails

Over their mouths when they laughed.

They had soft hands

That felt like velvet;

All the better for

Pinning their hair into tight buns.

They terrified me;

I could never hear them coming.

Their footfalls were too delicate;

Their voices too quiet.

My mother called them polite society.

But were they polite when

They smiled to my face

And giggled behind my back?

k. a-i.

2 thoughts on “Politesse (a poem by me)

Leave a Reply

