Spring Break in France

I spent my spring break in France on a school-sponsored service trip. I went with thirteen other juniors and seniors from my school, George School. We lived with host families in Alsace and worked as teachers assistants for toddlers and little kids. I worked with three to five year olds in a creche called Jardin d’Enfants. I really got to practice my French a lot and it was a life-changing experience.

We were also in Paris for four days. We visited the Louvre, the Musee d’Orsay, Notre Dame, the Sacre-Coeur, and, of course, the Eiffel Tower, as well as going on a breathtaking boat ride of the RIver Seine on the Bateau Rouge and watching a comedic french play titled The Lesson or Le Lecon.

The weather was perfect heavenly considering it’s still snowing back in Newtown, Pennsylvania. It was so much warmer, and we got to shed our coats and big jackets most of the time. The weather got up to 70 degrees fahrenheit at a point. It was particularly beautiful in Paris! And in Alsace, flowers were blooming and spring was arriving.

I can safely say that I had the trip of a lifetime!

Image

Outside the Louvre. I’m on the far left!

Image

On the Eiffel Tower. I’m on the far left again minus one!

2 thoughts on “Spring Break in France

Leave a Reply

